Diet/Exercise Update #6

Even though I have not been blogging my diet and exercise updates as often as I did in the beginning, I am still going as strong as I was when I first started in November. Guess what? I made it to my pre-pregnancy weight last Monday. Wahoo! But, I am definitely not stopping here. My next goal is the weight I was when I got married. That is about 15 lbs away. Since I have lost 25 pounds since the beginning of November, I feel like this is completely do-able. I would like to be there by the end of March. We’ll see how it goes. If I am losing 2 lbs a week, I can get there.

Want to see my chart? The blue line is target weight and the green line is actual weight.

As you can see, my weight loss has not been linear and I haven't always met my goals each week, but I'm on track!

As you can see, my weight loss has not been linear and I haven’t always met my goals each week, but I’m on track!

Many people have asked me : “What are you doing?” So, I’ll tell you.

  • Counting Calories – I log my calories every day on MyFitnessPal. It is a great site and you can put the app on your phone. It has a barcode scanner built in so if you don’t want to search your food and it has a barcode, you can just scan it and it will put the nutritional info in there for you.
  • Drinking TONS of Water – This was surprisingly very hard for me. It still is. I have to force this. It is the one thing I still hate doing. Not sure why. Drinking water should be easy, but it is not for me. Probably because I hate getting up to use the bathroom. It’s so annoying!
  • Exercising – In November, I started doing TurboFire (a program by Beachbody). In January, I started INSANITY with Josh (also another program from Beachbody). I really like both of these programs. I need to decide what I want to do next. I will probably do TurboFire again for a while until I have saved more money to buy INSANITY. It is a workout that Josh and I can do together, which is always nice.
  • Support – This has probably been the biggest reason I have been successful. I signed up with a Beachbody coach in November and she has a challenge group on Facebook for us. There are such awesome people on there and they always inspire me to do better. They also make me want to do better so I can help them too. I started a Biggest Loser Challenge group at work in January as well. So I’ve had 2 groups to be accountable to. This has really been my “keep going” motivator. Josh has also been an amazing support to me. He hasn’t complained about the healthier dinners I have been making and wants to do what he can to help me meet my goals. It’s always nice when he tells me I am looking good too. 🙂

Lessons learned so far:

  • Don’t try and do everything perfect at first – I think this is why a lot of people fail when they first start trying to lose weight. They track calories, exercise, drink more water than they used to, etc. etc. and try to do their 100% best overnight. Then when they make a mistake, they feel like they have to “start over” and get frustrated. I know this because I have made the same mistakes before. My advice would be to start with one thing. Start with tracking your calories. Then start trying to make it to your calorie goal. Then try and make sure you are drinking enough water. Then add exercise. Make it so when you add something else, the other things you already started doing are more habit.
  • Don’t get mad at yourself when you fail – People are going to bring cake into your office. You are going to eat it, and it’s going to taste good. So what? At your next meal, do better. Being healthy is not a “program.” It doesn’t have an “end date.” Life is going to throw cake, cookies and chips at you. Would you be very happy if you had to give those things up forever? Of course not. So eat and enjoy them. Just make sure to have them in moderation!
  • Move – It is crazy how amazing you feel after a hard workout. Try it. You won’t regret it.
  • Know what you are putting in your mouth – Know how many calories that box of Kraft Macaroni and Cheese has? Look (at the prepared calorie part). It will shock you. I thought I was eating fairly well until I logged it. Huge eye opener! Also figure out how many calories you should be eating in a day. Oh yeah – and the next time they bring cake into the office (or whatever), it will be a lot easier to say “No thank you” because you don’t want to spend your calories on that!
  • Be open to adjusting things – What if you hit a plateau? What if your planned workout routine isn’t working out for you? Adjust. Fix it. Crazy as it sounds, sometimes you have to go UP in calories to keep losing weight.

New Goals:

  1. Make it to the weight I was when I got married. That is 15 lbs away.
  2. Eat more vegetables and fruit.
  3. Be in bed by 10:00 every night.
  4. Be able to do 10 regular push-ups in a row (I have horrible upper body strength!)

 

One thought on “Diet/Exercise Update #6

Leave a Reply

