Miss Maddy Lately

Well, I was hoping my next blog post of Madelyn would be her 6 month pictures that we got professionally taken. But I’m still waiting on those! It’s only been 2 weeks (and she told me it would be a few weeks), but I am just impatient. She was so good during her pics, I really cannot wait to see them. There is one that the photographer took of her on this mini leather couch….ahhh!

Madelyn is still such a happy, smart, beautiful little girl. Josh and I always ask each other “How did we get such an awesome baby?” She really is so great.

Happy dolly

Happy dolly

She is getting harder to put down for her evening nap, the little stinker. Her morning and afternoon naps are no problem, but she really fights the evening one. We will rock her and she will be completely out, then we lay her down in her crib and she pops her eyes open and gets really mad. I stand over her and put her bink in her mouth, then leave the room. If she cries again, I go back in, pop the bink back in her mouth, then leave again. She usually falls back asleep. I know she needs a nap because she is so crabby before and she always wakes up happy if she takes her nap. Funny kid. I wonder why kids fight their naps so much.

She loves to hit. She will hit and smack her high chair tray when she is sitting in it. If I’m holding her, she will hit my face (or Josh’s, if he is holding her). She hit her cousin Carter last week when we were trying to take pics in my grandparents sleigh. He wasn’t a huge fan of that. This picture just cracks me up. It was right before she hit him pretty hard (I know because it was the last picture I took before I just took single pics of her, lol).

Maddy mid-hit.

Maddy mid-hit.

Lately, whenever we are feeding her solids, she will perk her head up and open her mouth like a baby bird. It is so funny. I also started feeding her those little rice puffs from Gerber that disolve in your mouth. She isn’t super sure of those yet. I put one in her mouth and it looks like she has hillbilly teeth because she lets it sit halfway out her lips for a little bit. Such a cutie! She sure makes me laugh.

Hillbilly rice puff teef.

Hillbilly rice puff teef.

She loves to shake her head no. This is a pretty new development. She’ll be laying on the floor or watching me and just shake it back and forth like she is saying no. I don’t have a pic of this. 😦

We took her to see Santa last week. She really wasn’t too sure about that. She just had this “Mom…why are you making me sit on this man’s lap?” look on her face the whole time. I think this picture captures it all:

Maddy with Santa (first time!)

Maddy with Santa (first time!)

I am enjoying being a mom to her sooo much. She is my little buddy and I love taking her places. I love having her with me. Yeah, I don’t get as much done around the house as I would like to, but that’s okay. I know the time will come when I will have a lot more time for house work, and I will wish she was a baby again. It makes me sad to see how fast she is growing up. I looked on my Facebook timeline (you can see your 2012 in review, all the biggest moments) and it is all about Maddy. She really is our whole world. We love you Mad!

Mama and her baby girl.

Mama and her baby girl.

One thought on “Miss Maddy Lately

Leave a Reply

